Head On Portrait Prize

Head On Portrait Prize

40 Finalists


Festival Year :


Exhibition Description

The Head On Portrait Prize recognizes artists that demonstrate innovative approaches to photographic portraiture. Established in 2004, this leading international competition celebrates the talents of emerging and established contemporary portrait photographers.

Through our anonymous selection process, our judges selected a diverse range of images that reveal how the traditional notion of portrait has been reinterpreted and expanded. Evocative and emotional, these portraits explore the depth of the human condition. 

2019 Head On Photo Award Judges:

Arianna Rinaldo, Artistic Director, Cortona On The Move   
David Alan Harvey, photographer, Magnum Photos   
Enrico Stefanelli, Festival Director, PhotoLux   
Genevieve Fussell, Senior Photo Editor, The New Yorker   
Grzegorz Kosmala, Founder, BLOW UP PRESS     
Lucy Pike, Photography Director, WeTransfer   
Lydia Dorner, Assistant Curator, Musée de l’Elysée   
Mags King, Managing Photo Editor, Fairfax Media   
Michael Cook, photographer     
Michele Aboud, photographer     
Moshe Rosenzveig OAM, Creative Director, Head On Photo Festival  

This exhibition is supported by


Artist Bio

Alessandro Grassani, Camillo Pasquarelli, Chris Bekos, Chris Hoare, Darren Leigh Roberts, Eduard Korniyenko, Elizabeth Looker, Ella Dreyfus, Ella Mack, Eva Collins, Grant Smith, Itamar Freed, Javier Arcenillas, Jessica Opgård, Joe Ruckli, Joel Pratley, Jonathan May, Jouk Oosterhof, Juliet Taylor, Justin Tan-Torres, Kati Leinonen, Kelly Champion, Lauren Horwood, Loulou d'Aki, Max Mason-Hubers, Monica Denevan, Nadide Goksun, Natalie Grono, Nathan Stolz, Nick Bowers, Olga Stefatou, Owen Harvey, Peter Solness, Rafael Heygster, Rebecca Murray, Simon Harsent, Stewart Leishman, Sylvia Konior, Tristan Still, Vivian Keulards

Exhibition Space

Dates and Times


Open Hours

Opening Hours
Monday - Sunday: 10:00 am-6:00 pm

-33.885239, 151.225807